Spring Festival Fail

Posted: May 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

This year I wanted to do something a little different at the spring festival from the usual pamphleteering. I decided that with all of the police presence I noticed last year, I should wear my new CopBlock.org t-shirt. Also, I made it my goal to complete at least ONE transaction with somebody using silver.

After we parked, it didn’t take all of 30 seconds to see the first cop directing traffic by the festival entrance, he seemed too busy to notice my new shirt. As we where waiting in line to get into the beer garden, I see that there are at least a half dozen cops standing around watching the crowds. Last year, I wouldn’t have paid any attention to them, as long as I’m not doing anything wrong I have nothing to worry about, right? That used to be my mentality about a lot of things.

I needed some cash and spotted the ATM right behind two of the cops. As I’m withdrawing funds, I noticed that the two cops couldn’t help but casually take turns to look at my shirt. I maintained a stare at the ATM screen while noticing them out of the corner of my eye, wondering if they where going to say anything. But alas they let me be.

After a beer and some pop jams from this cover band, (they where pretty cool) I figured I’d go do a little shopping around trying to find the right vendor who might accept my precious metal for their products. The first one I decided to stop at had all of this cool artwork glued to little keepsake boxes, clocks and other random things for you to set on your dresser or hang on the wall. I saw this sweet little box with a combination of shelves and drawers. It had a little PCB board and other electrical components glued to it.

She was asking $40, so I asked the nice lady if she’d accept an ounce of pure .999+ silver for it. At first she was like, “Hmm…I never thought of accepting silver for my stuff”. So I explained to her that she’d be making out better on the deal then me, since an ounce of silver was selling for about $48 at the time. I even showed her the current silver prices on my Android app. But unfortunately, she just wasn’t confident enough and wanted to talk to her brother in-law about it. I said thanks, here is my name and number, I’ll be here until about 7:00 if you change your mind. Although I still haven’t heard back from her yet, I’m hoping that she will at least look into precious metals now.

It get’s better though. After a couple more failed attempts, I spot this stand selling belt buckles and jewelry. I should be able to trade with these guys right? They are aware of the market for sure.

I found one of those cool spinner rings. You know, the kind you can keep spinning around your finger when you’re bored. They where asking for a flat $20 on this one and it’s made out of steel. I offered them one of my half ounce rounds from Delvalley Silver which was worth about $23.50 at the time. Seems like a no-brainer. But the offer was declined. So at this point I said alright, here is some fiat paper currency instead. They gladly accepted. But then chuckled at my comment and asked me why I wanted to use my silver when it’s gone up so much in value lately. I simply told her that I was trying to get it back into the market and that I was trying to spread these alternative ideas.

On the way back to the beer garden, my buddy Kevo stops at a table set up by the Baltimore County Auxiliary Police Team. Instantly they started posturing as they saw me coming with my CopBlock.org t-shirt. But they where very receptive to our questions and compared themselves to voluntary fire fighters. They explained that they had the “authority” to make arrests, back-up the Baltimore County Police Department, and write tickets.

As we are having this conversation a group of about 8-10 cops come walking down the sidewalk behind them. I heard a bit of commotion and as I looked up, one of the cops that was in the beer garden earlier, was pointing at me going “Yeah, yeah. See?” Luckily (probably for me) one of his superior officers kinda grabbed him to make him keep walking. It was pretty funny to me because this guy was acting like a high-schooler, trying to provoke an after school fight.

After a couple more questions, we took some of their fliers (I promise next time, I’ll get any conversations like this on film. There was a good, almost positive dialog between us. Probably because they don’t wear guns) then decided to go  back to meet up with the rest of our friends.

Once we got back to the beer garden, all the cops had condensed over to one corner of this fenced in parking lot. I didn’t think much of it and carried on about my business. Then about 20 minutes before we are about to leave, I’m coming out of the port-o-potty and see 6 cops making a b-line through the crowd. I could see that they where heading towards my buddy Kevo! Aww shit, what happened? I’m fumbling for my phone and got over there just quick enough to convince my other buddy to tell me what happened. I’m going to have to upload this after I figure out how to make wordpress recognize .3pg files.

So he get’s thrown out for taking a few pictures of the ridiculous amount of cops that where present. After they made him delete those picture of coarse. But I can sit there interviewing my buddy while clearly wearing a t-shirt with a big portrait of a cop on it and they don’t even say a word to me.

So I don’t know why they singled my buddy out for snapping a few pictures. I guess maybe it was a bit of selective enforcement or something. But we will be back next year and everyone will have camera phones and I WILL trade with silver.

Good day!

Comments
  1. lksf says:

    Just subscribed.

  2. Dirty Sanchez says:

    Don’t let the past affect the future…

Leave a Reply

